Lyme Park

image

Lyme Park in Stockport has a very special place in my heart.

I first encountered it on the television screen when it was Pemberley in the 1995 BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice.

image

Many will recognise the great house in the famous wet shirt scene from this adaptation, but dripping Mr Darcy aside, the house stands in such majestic and beautiful surroundings that I fell in love with the house as I did with the romance between Elizabeth and Darcy.

image

I have been lucky enough to walk the grounds and deer park and stand in awe at the scale and grandeur of the house. It has been too many years since I was last there.

image

Unfortunately, Lyme Park is not licensed for civil ceremonies, however they do offer evening marquee receptions.

I was reminded of Lyme Park as a result of watching The Awakening with my husband.

image

I have always associated the house with safe romance and I’m so familiar with the house as Pemberley. However, it was interesting to see Lyme Park in a more atmospheric, spooky setting.

Leave a Reply

