Festive Fantasy Art

This festive season has been very busy, but in a good way. I’ve attended some wonderful concerts like Carols by Candlelight by the sublime Mozart Festival Orchestra. That certainly helped to get into the festive spirit.

At this time of year, I love the wonderful festive fantasy art around, particularly of dragons by the likes of Gothic artist Anne Stokes. If only this little fella could be found in my Christmas stocking!


I love depictions of cosy festive scenes, they make me feel safe and warm, and adding that fantastical element with mischievous dragons amidst the brightly coloured Christmas paper just adds to the whole magic of the season.

Anne Stokes also has a wonderful talent for presenting incredibly touching scenes of dragon companionship and she recently created this beautiful festive image that I immediately fell in love with the intimacy of the scene.

Magical snowy scenes are also beautifully rendered by Stokes, and they’re the kind of images that really make me feel nostalgic about fantasy lands like Narnia and trying to get there as a child by playing in the wardrobe.

For Christmas, I got a beautiful black porcelain cat from my sister-in-law. I’ve had some beautiful black cats over the years and it was the perfect gift for a black cat lover.

Since I recently discovered the delightful Fortuna the Cat by Ash Evans, I was obviously very pleased that the little critter was depicted in some festive images!

I’m hoping that this Christmas, I’ll be able to get some of these images as prints and add them to our festive decorations.

I hope 2012 is a good year for everyone. Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

