Hallowe’en & Black Cats

Okay, so I know I’m beyond late with a Hallowe’en art post when we’re now so close to Christmas. The wedding (which will have its own post very soon) in October pretty much meant that I had no head space or time for anything else, and I only feel like now I can think about anything else!

Recently, I came across the darling creation of Ash Evans; Fortuna the Cat. I seem to be big on black cat art at the moment which fits so well with my love of Hallowe’en in general.

I always get so nostalgic in autumn and around Hallowe’en especially. I always disappear into my childhood memories of reading The Worst Witch books and making Hallowe’en costumes and masks. It might seem silly to some, but I just love pumpkins and bats and witches on broomsticks and haunted houses.

I stumbled accidentally upon the art of Jeremiah Morelli and immediately fell in love with his evocative Hallowe’en paintings.

Black cats have a special place in my heart and I love my own darling boy, Aragorn. I love the wonderfully playful images of Fortuna the Cat. That hat!

Jeremiah Morelli’s black cats remind me of my Aragorn which is why I think I fell in love with this picture:

Perhaps I might get round to some Christmas themed art and actually do the post at the right sort of time!

2 thoughts on “Hallowe’en & Black Cats

  1. Ash Evans says:

    Hi There, Ash Evans here. Thanks so much for the nod I really appreciate it 😉 Fortuna is a favorite of mine and I have one for every holiday. As a Halloween baby I love the holiday it is my favorite!! Happy Holidays and Cheers!

  2. gothicmoomin says:

    Hi Ash!

    Thank you for stopping by, and you’re very welcome, it was my pleasure.

    October is probably my favourite month out of the year, so it’s great to find art that is inspiring. I got married in October this year so it’s even more special for me now 🙂

    Thank you again for the comment, it means a lot.

Leave a Reply

