“The falling leaves drift by my window….”

16876664_ecc5c7e4e6

Autumn has to be my favourite season. For me, it’s filled with so much romance and promise. I love the cold, crisp days. Something about seeing roads carpeted in crackling leaves filled with so many hues of orange, brown and red make me feel so content. I often marvel about the beauty I see in Autumn.

I love being able to bundle up in woolly hats and scarves. I get so much satisfaction in just being outside on an bright, cold Autumn day.

autumn_1

I felt like I had to do some sort of personal ode to Autumn, with it being Autumn now. I try my best not to take things for granted and enjoy the things I love “in the moment”, to avoid as many regrets as possible. I don’t think there is anything sadder than lamenting missed opportunities or for not seeing something for being as special as it was.

Yesterday, my partner and I went for a pub lunch. Nothing out of the ordinary or particularly spectacular, but it was a lovely day and we really enjoyed our walk to and from the pub. We walked hand in hand and used the moment to smile and be happy and talk about our shared interests.

autumn-road

I always tend to feel nostalgic and wistful at this time of year. It is usually at this time of year that I dig out the Tania Kindersley books and listen to artist’s like Eva Cassidy. Her version of Autumn Leaves holds a very special place in my heart:

The falling leaves drift by my window
The falling leaves of red and gold
I see your lips, the summer kisses
The sunburned hands I used to hold

Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall


Since you went away the days grow long
And soon I’ll hear old winter’s song
But I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

I miss you most of all, my darling
When autumn leaves start to fall

I’ve always held a child-like delight where Hallowe’en is concerned. I know most people see it as a terribly commercial event, but I sort of love that. I love walking past shops and seeing the windows filled with bats, pumpkins and black cats. I love the drama and mystery that I still attach to Hallowe’en. I have fond memories of making ghost masks with my younger brother, or reading my Worst Witch books.

halloween

I tend to feel over-excited in the run up to Hallowe’en, even if I don’t have any plans. I do love buying Hallowe’en decorations, buying themed cakes and snacks, playing atmospheric music, watching spooky films, curling up on a dark, cold night, in the corner of the sofa with a gothic novel, like Dracula.

I suppose a part of me will never quite grow up, and I cling to that. I want to still be wanting to have Hallowe’en themed parties and buying trinkets and decorations.

halloween-table-scream-1009-de

Leave a Reply

